top of page
  • 5099814

Antithesis Plays Sittwe Pagoda Festival in Burma (Myanmar)

Updated: Aug 20, 2020

During a visit to Burma in March I had the pleasure of performing to a crowd of around 20,000 at the Sittwe Pagoda Festival. I took to the stage as part of a big festival featuring some of the biggest names in Burmese music. Having by this time been in the country for a few days, I was able to interact a bit with the crowd in basic Burmese. The atmosphere was electric and the crowd incredible. Apparently I was the first foreigner to perform at such an event in Sittwe; the state capital of Rakhine State. Before the concert, the head monk of the pagoda gave me a Burmese name: Mau Hla Jaw meaning ‘Handsome Famous Younger Brother’. I am not one to refuse a compliment!




23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Back online!

Back with a brand new website! Unfortunately due to some challenges with moving host, and a great deal going on over the past few months, the Antithesis website has sadly been down recently. Thanks to

bottom of page